When you’ve won everything, what next?

I’ve got a lot to say this season; from the Americanisation of the Premier League, to the Brazilianisation of Chelsea FC, as well as my Lionel Messi ‘encounter’. But I have to start by putting my spin on last season’s achievements on the record (look away now: this post is unashamedly self-indulgent). Again, my parental responsibilities and profession have got in the way of my blog. My last post, in April, seems a lifetime ago. Then, Chelsea were looking ahead to an FA Cup semi final against Spurs at Wembley, a Champions League semi final against Barcelona, and Arsenal in the league. I wrote about the dream draw in Europe – the potential of a final against Bayern Munich or Real Madrid. I haven’t got the time to go into the intricacies of those matches but needless to say, victory was so sweet in the FA Cup and, of course, the Champions League, that it took me the entire summer to come back down to earth.


Champions League Sofa Celebrations at Casa Gibson

From the ecstasy at Casa Gibson on 19 May, to the carnival at Eel Brook Common when we finally saw the Trophy With the Big Ears, it was the experience of a lifetime for a Chelsea fan. But what comes next? Before turning 30, I’ve been fortunate enough to see my club lift every major trophy available. Back in 1994, as an 11-year-old watching Glenn Hoddle’s team battle to a dreary 0-0 draw against Everton, I would never have dreamed of my team reaching such heights. I know I’m very lucky to witness such glorious years. My father still proclaims that he misses the good old days when we were a team of mid-table battlers. I just want to enjoy every moment of glory while it lasts, and let me assure fans of other London clubs that if you win the biggest prize in Europe, it’s immensely satisfying knowing that no one can ever take it away from you.

Perhaps in search of some novel excitement, and to quench my football thirst during the long summer, I even took my dear mother to watch Mexico smash Senegal in the Olympics (silly sombreros compulsory). But now the new season is underway, what do I want my club to do next? The press believe that Abramovich now wants Chelsea to win everything again, just using a more attractive style. That sounds good. 

In March, I said Di Matteo wasn’t the man for the job. But if we won the double, I’d reconsider. Well he did win the double and he deserves at least a season to prove himself capable in the long run. It was an easy choice in the end. A win-win for Roman. A popular choice with the fans after leading the club to the highest heights, and if he fails this season, well, Pep Guardiola’s sabbatical will be about to come to a timely end. In the meantime, let’s get in amongst those Mancunians and make it a three-horse race for the Prem please.



Leave a comment

Filed under Abramovich, Champions League, Chelsea

Leave a comment